Book Talk at the Atlanta Cyclorama

Derek Williams and MomThoroughly enjoyed visiting Atlanta Cyclorama yesterday to talk about African American Faces of the Civil War! I could not have felt more welcomed at the home of the historic painting, and am deeply in debt to everyone involved for their support and enthusiasm.

Anthony Knight made all the arrangements, and kept me up to date on developments and details prior to my arrival. He was the perfect host. Monica Prothro made sure the facilities were set up. Beverly Williams was at her post at the bookstore. Derek Williams (pictured here with my mom, Carol, who came along to see her son speak about the book for the first time) gave us an abbreviated but highly engaging tour of the painting.

Mom and I were spoiled: The event included a table of wonderful hors d’oeuvres from Epicurean Drama Events.

My biggest thanks for all who attended, including Atlanta Office of Cultural Affairs Director Camille Russell Love, Got Proof! My Genealogical Journey Through the Use of Documentation author Michael N. Henderson, Michael K. Shaffer of the Kennesaw State University’s Civil War Center, James A. Yancey Jr. of the Georgia Civil War Commission, Metro Atlanta chapter of the Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society President Emma Davis Hamilton, Executive Director Rob Williams of The Sable Arm in Acts of Valor, and my Marla San Miguel (we were at the University of Georgia together, and it was great to catch up!).

Book sales were strong, and I am thankful for everyone’s support. Among the books I signed was one for Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed.

It was a wonderful day, and I only wished my stay could have been longer.

Leave a Reply

