A Talk, a Show and Tell, and More at the CVCWCA

IMG_8188Yesterday I had the distinct honor to talk about cartes de visite to the Central Virginia Civil War Collectors Association in Richmond, Va.

My visit was timed to the CVCWCA’s monthly meeting, and I was unprepared for the dynamism of this group. The meeting included a warm introduction by the organization’s fearless leader, Brig. Gen. John W. “Jack” Mountcastle (U.S. Army, retired), followed by my remarks, a Q&A and a show and tell to wrap up the evening. It was this latter activity that I found especially engaging. Members brought in recently dug relics and Civil War photos (knowing that I’d be in attendance). It felt like  a special edition of Antiques Roadshow as I examined and commented on selected images.

Brig. Gen. Mountcastle is a name that will be familiar to many of you. He served as Chief Military Historian of the U.S. Army Center of Military History from 1994 to 1998. Check out his appearance on C-Span.

The invitation would not have happened with member Dave Batalo. I met Dave last year and was impressed with his eye for quality images. A few months ago, I had the pleasure of meeting up with him and scanning a number of his Virginia images. You’ll see some of them in the Summer 2017 issue of Military Images magazine.

I came away from the evening feeling energized and enthusiastic thanks to Dave, Jack and the rest of the club members. I came away without the big box of books that I lugged in, and thank the club members for their generosity.

I came home with the paperweight pictured here. I recently upgraded my office to include an adult-size table (I worked on a smallish desk for years) and the paperweight is a perfect accessory.

Leave a Reply

